Pali Canon (Tripitaka)


The Buddhist Pali-Literature and the Buddhist philosophy were written down first after the death of Buddha Gautama and later corrected in councils and it was later partly as not authentic disputed.

The first Buddhist council is according to  the Theravada dated to the year after Buddha 's Parinibbana (543-542 BC), according to some Mahayana - schools before that date, western researchers named different dates later.

The Pali canon is a collection of teachings of the Buddha Gautama, written in the Pali language. The literal translation of Tipiṭaka (Pali) and Tripitaka (Sanskrit) is 'three baskets'. It points to the structure of the texts in three large parts or baskets

The most tapped Pali canon of the Vibhajyvāda sect of the Theravadins is also the only Buddhist canon which is fully preserved in an Indian language.

An error however, which goes back to the indologists of that time, is that this veersion of the  Pali canon is called the original or only correct one.

The editions of the Pali Text Society and the german translations of Karl Eugen Neumann (* 1865, † 1915) and Anton Gueth, which were philologically controversial today, originated between 1896 and 1917.

Kangyur and Tengyur

Other translated collections are differently arranged like the tibetan Kangyur, the Sanskrit Canon, the Korean Canon [1], and the Chinese Canon (W.-G. San Tsang, three treasure houses; Dazangjing: large scripture collection).

The Chinese Canon is subdivided like the Pali canon in Sūtra (jing), Abidharma (lun) and Vinaya (lü), but it is also divided into Hinayāna and Mahāyāna.  The Agama sutras of the Chinese Mahāyāna correspond with regards to content essentially to the Pali canon.

Literature Weblinks