Bitte aktivieren Sie Javascript !

Esoteric bodies

The average person has three unconscious and little developed higher bodies: etheric body (prana, chi), astral body, mental body, and possibly even a  causal body (corresponding to the buddhic plane). 

Esoteric magic knows only 4 bodies. Spirituality develops still higher bodies parallel to the Jivatma.

The student on the path develops higher spiritual bodies which enable the final enlightenment (Moksha). Then the spiritual Jivatma unites with the Paramata-Purusha (or the Dharmakaya).

In the secret iconography of the mysteries were therefore symbolic persons developed.


Mahayana - Buddhism develops mainly the three spiritual Trikaya - bodies. Previous meditations serve the preparation and purification.  The Vajrayana knows further a. Vajra - Body ('luwa') with channels (Wyl. rtsa; Skt. nadi), Wind-energys(Wyl. rlung; Skt. prāṇa) and essences or tiklé (Wyl. thig le; Skt. bindu).

This also includes the Tsa Lung Tigle - exercises. The Blue Beryl of tibetan medicine contains drawings of Nadis and chakras.


  • The 5 Koshas who envelop the Atman - after Adi Shankara - are also interpreted as bodies : Adi Shankara mentions in the Atma-Bodha  ( jIva vicAra ) : 2.1 SarIra-traya (3 bodies) : sthUla-sUkshma-kAraNa SarIra's
  • The Vedanta revolves around 3 bodies : Karana sarira - Kausalkörper, Suksma sarira - subtiler Körper, Sthula sarira - physical body. These do not correspond to the 5 Koshas around the Atman.
  • The Taittiriya Upanishad counts 5 koshas, which are often mixed up with the 5 Koshas who surround the Atman:
  1. Sthula sarira, the material body - Annamaya Kosha
  2. Suksma sarira, the subtle body, consists of :
  3. Pranamaya Kosha (Vital breath or Vital-energy)
  4. Manomaya Kosha (mind),
  5. Vijnanamaya Kosha (intellect)
  6. Karana sarira, Kausal-body, Anandamaya Kosha (bliss)

The Laya Yoga of Yogi Bhajan describes 10 bodies : The material body, three mental bodies and six energy bodies. An eleventh body contains the divine tone (Shabda) and is in a state of nondual consciousness .

== Chakras ==

Ckakras('whirls of energy')  are a part of these bodies. The are connected with energy-channels or Nadis. There are up to 32 chakras mentioned in the Yogabooks. In Indian Tantra as in the Shat Chakra Nirupana (Sans. Ṭaṭcakranirūpaṇa) at least seven main chakras are mentioned as well as a series of secondary chakras. Goraksanath mentions other chakras distributed in the body,

After the Vairatapurana, the Amritachakra is located in the upper part of the forehead where the nectar is constantly descending. This place is described as the whereabouts of Gayatri called Kamadhenu (in the script the so-called wonderful desire-filling cow) with the four Vymyami: Ambika, Lambika, Ghantika and Talika.

The Kashmiri Shivaism knows other front chakras such as nabhi- chakra (navel), hrit (heart), kantha kupa (throat), and bhrumadya.

According to Satguru Sivaya Subramuniyaswami, there are seven other underworld chakras under the Muladhara.

== Literature ==

* Exploring Auras: Cleansing and Strengthening Your Energy Field, S. G. Shumsky

von Susan G. Shumsky

== Weblinks ==