"A wise man takes the essence of the knowledge of all places just as a bumblebee collects honey everywhere and of every flower", (Srimad Bhagavatam 4.18.2)

Modern hinduism is a complex system of old vedic traditions, of Vedanta and of various yogasystems. Their scriptures often contain a limited and therefore unilateral knowledge, also conditioned by the oral translation and the consciousness of the traditionist and the scool. Therefore, for example, are the Upanishads not generally accepted in India.

Hinduism teaches the vedic 'trimurti' of the three big cosmic creator-gods Brahma (creator of forms - with the 4 faces of the 4 divine tattwas), Vishnu(penetrating and building, sustaining and destroying; divine electric and magnetic forces and poles) and Maheshvara(the pure untouched One, Shiva as the dissolving destroyer - with the 5th divine etheric tattwa ). After the Kurma-Purana Shiva cut off the 5th head of the creator god Brahma because Brahma had called himself arrogantly as the supreme God. Sill they do not pass the treshold of the 'big emptyness oder mahashunya' or the Ishvara-Tattwa of kashmir Shaivism. First Krishna in his form as 'Param Brahman' crosses this treshold and as well the four cosmic Mahashaktis and Sadashiva (and of course a master of the 5th initiation).

In the aftervedic time, master Sri Adi Shankara introduced the Sanatana Dharma and the Advaita system, and he had to fight against many errors which had slipt into the Vedanta System. Other vedanta - systems are Vishishtadvaita-Vedanta of Ramanuja and the Dvaita-Vada-Vedanta.

But also modern Vedanta contains errors. An example is the view of the term Maya which in reality means the formativ element-principle: Shankara speaks about the 5 shells of Maya which curtain the Purusha.
Maya is the dark and little conscious element-principle which manifests, perpetuates and governs the phenomenal Universe, which is created under the influence of the Atman on Maya(Anthakarana). Nowadays Maya is mostly seen as a factor which causes delusion (in contrary to Kashmir-Shaivaism) and sometimes even mistakenly looked at as the creator of the Pranava-Nada of the buddhic plane out of itself.

The Shankara-Order teaches the steps of the ashtanga-yoga which contains the first 16 steps of the 'Universal Doctrine' or 'Universal Path':
"Ashtanga yoga -- Yama, niyam, aasan, praanayaam, pratyaahaar, dhaarnaa, dhyaan, samaadhi. Those are the eight limbs of the yoga. A guru takes a student one after another through this. For that the guru takes NOTHING of its student. He does it out of kindness and out of the feeling to do something good for his student."
Shree Shankaracharya Swaroopanand Saraswati (The Illustrated Weekly of India, September 13, 1987).

The steps of the Asthanga-Yoga are the standard in most hinduistic systems.

Additional literature:
Sri Yuktesvar Giri: The holy science, SRF which appeared in collaboration with Yogananadas Guru Babaji.

Mahabharata , Ramayana
Sri Yuktesvar Giri said that entire knowledge of India is symbolically coded in the MAHABHARATA epic, on which the Bhagavad-Gita relies too.

The Indian epic Mahabharata is one of the largest and most important creations of the world literature. In some editions, it comprises up to 100,000 verses. Besides the actual action numerous small episodes are incidentally described. To them counts also the story of Savitri and Satyavan.

A statement: "Savitri was strong willed to reget her spouse, and she followed Yama into regions, that actually no mortal can enter. In the end she succeeded that to involve Yama into a conversation. Yama was impressed of the imperturbable tenacity, with which Savitri fought for life of its spouse, and he Satyavans soulin the end again free for a further life on earth.
The latter is in this context a description of the step 13 of the 22 steps.
The shorter versions of the Mahabharata (like the version of Biren Roy) show the path of the 22 steps clearer:
The Kauravas and the Pandavas grow up together. After step 6 their pathes seceded. Step 18 of the 22 steps corresponds with the battle of Kuruskshetra , on which also the Bhagavad Gita leans but in a different context.
The Mahabharata ends with step 20 (master).

The next important epos is the Ramyana which contains 6 books and a 7th appended book.
The allegoric interpretation is :
* Book 1 - Bala-Kanda - includes step 6 of the path........
* Book 5 - Sundara-Kanda - contains step 14 of the Universal path.
* Book 6 - Yuddha-Kanda - completes the step 17
* Book 7 - Uttara-Kanda - completes with step 20 - rama returns into heaven

All puranas have an allegoric meaning.
A hinduistic representation of the step 10 of the Universal Doctrine is for example the scene of the Gods and demons fighting for the milk ocean. In the past all that was deliberately symbolically represented. The Tarotcard 10 shows similar gods and demons.

Modern hinduism has often lost the understanding of the original doctrine - as can be seen at the millions of pilgrims, who proceed to pilgrimage to the Ganga, although this 'bath' which is expected to clean of Karma sins, is in reality the Nada or the the Pranava.

A hinduistic teachings is for example that someone who bathes during full moon in May is liberated from rebirth - in reality is the inner full moon meant, which the searcher must first selfrealize together with the inner spiritual sun of the shabda.

( Similar is the simple-minded beleife of Islam of the entering into the paradise in a worldly "holy war", which is confounded with the "inner war" of step 15 of the long path. )

The Hinduism offers a confusing multitude of teachings, especially in the area of the right Tantra (in addition: Prof. A. Bharati: The Tantric tradition; INC and/or Rider CO show) and of numerous yoga systems.

Some gurus as the deceased Babaji from Histanapur said, that we live in a time period of Shiva, and many of them teach the meditation on the 'Om namaha shivaya' which the Shiva-PuranasPuranas glorify as a mantram which is suitable for everyone
Shiva, Parvati and Ganesha (the divine child) are in Hinduismus together the holy family (end of step 14).
It is said that Shiva's force is received on the hair tips of the Swamis head. Shiva himself lives in the golden hall in the center of the universe.

The Kashmir-Shaivism theaches the last 5 steps of the Ashtanga-Yoga (the first 3 are a condition for scholarship) and has the most detailed view of the planes of creation.

In hinduism, the human development is accompanied by the 10(24) Avatars. Rama and Krishna must be seen as helpers on initial stages. Buddha Gautama attained the enlightenment individually. He taught the students to use teir mind instead of just to beleive. That was 2500 years ago somewhat quite new.
As last avatar the Kalki-Avatar is expected to come and to restore the Dharma, not to confound with an Islamic fundamentalist empire on the basis of the human consciousness.

Modern India has lost much of its spirituality. Only a minority really understands the old and the often orally transferred traditional texts in its depth and often the Gurus abuse their position.


Copyright 2012 www.universal-path.org