Raja - Yoga


At his time PATANJALI succeeded to bring a system into the Yoga in his Yoga-Sutras which complete the system of the early Samkhya to the Isvara(God).
But he was often little understood because he has no special training-system with specific exercises except OM-Meditation, pranayama and asanas.

"Ashtanga Yoga--Yama, niyam, aasan, praanayaam, pratyaahaar, dhaarnaa, dhyaan, samaadhi, theses are the eight limbs of yoga. A Guru takes a disciple into these one by one."(Shankaraycharya)
(The Illustrated Weekly of India, September 13, 1987)

The eight steps of RAJA - YOGA are equivalent to step 1- 16 of the UNIVERSAL Path.

1. YAMA [ Tarot 1,2 ] - Satya, Ahimsa, Brahmacharya, Aparigraha und Asteya

2. NIYAMA [ Tarot 3,4 ] - Saucha, Santosha, Tapas, Swadhyaya and Ishwara Pranidhana

RAJA-Yoga has a kind of moral as its basis - and the study of the holy scriptures. Practices besides a change of lifestyle and of nutrition are singing of special mantrams!

The Hatha Yoga Pradipika mentions these steps in 'Asanas 16,17' too.

3. ASANA : Body-exercises like in Hatha-Yoga, the beginnings of Tai Chi Chuan or the first steps of KungFu-Training [ Tarot 5,6 ]

4. PRANAYAMA - Purification of the life-force (Prana, Chi) [ Tarot 7,8 ]
The chinese energy-exercises (Qi-Gong, Circulation of Chi) have a similar effect

5. PRATYAHARA - Drawing back of the senses [ Tarot 9,10 ]

6. DHARANA - Concentration [ Tarot 11,12 ]

7. DHYANA - Meditation [ Tarot 13,14 ]
The meditation is now so deep that it is the forrunner of Samadhi.

8. ISHVARA - SAMADHI (God - Extasy) [ Tarot 15,16 ]

There are two further SAMADHIS, the Sabikalpa Samadhi and the Nirbikalpa-Samadhi - the true Enlightenment with the Cosmic Consciousness, and finally the Sahaj-Samadhi.

Patanjali warns that the SIDDHIS(occult forces) that very progressed disciples can have can be a hinderance that binds to the lower forces and planes.

The Method :
Samadhi Pada I
27. The Word of Ishvara, is OM. This is the Pranava.
28. Through the sounding of the Word and through reflection upon its meaning, the path is found.

"Engaged in the practice of concentration, uttering the monosyllable OM, remembering Me always, the yogi attains to the supreme goal." (Bhagavad Gita 8,13)

The Krama -Section of kashmir shaivism practices a path similar to asthtanga - yoga but requires first three stages.

“When you establish the internal reality of God Consciousness in Your soul, that is dharana. This dharana is not only to be established in internal God Consciousness but in all activities of the worldly life. This is true dharana." (Netra Tantra.)

Three: " 1 for thou shalt have become that Three thyself. Thyself and mind, like twins upon a line, the star which is thy goal burns overhead. 2 The Three that dwell in glory and in bliss ineffable, now in the World of Maya have lost their names. They have become one star, the fire that burns but scorches not, that five which is the Upadhi3 of the Flame. And this, O Yogi of success, is what men call Dhyana, 4 the right percursor of Samadhi."(Blavatsky : Vioce of Silence)